» » Betrayal at Little Gibraltar by William Walker EPUB

Download Betrayal at Little Gibraltar by William Walker EPUB

Download Betrayal at Little Gibraltar by William Walker EPUB
21.2 MB
E-Books
Language: English
Category: E-Books
Title: Betrayal at Little Gibraltar by William Walker EPUB
Rating: 4.4
Votes: 266
Downloads: 7
Size:
21.2 MB

Files

Betrayal at Little Gibraltar by William Walker EPUB
  • free audiobook version.txt (0.6 KB)
  • Betrayal at Little Gibraltar by William Walker.epub (21.2 MB)

Info

Betrayal at Little Gibraltar tells vivid human stories of the soldiers who fought to capture the giant fortress and push the . One of these units, the 79th Infantry Division, is the subject of William T. Walker's book Betrayal at Little Gibraltar.

Betrayal at Little Gibraltar tells vivid human stories of the soldiers who fought to capture the giant fortress and push the American advance. Like Stephen Ambrose and . Gwynne, Walker is writing popular history at its best.

In his masterful Betrayal at Little Gibraltar, William Walker tells the full story for the first time. A "military history for all libraries" (Library Journal), Betrayal at Little Gibraltar tells of the soldiers who fought to capture the giant fortress and push the American advance. After a delay in the assault on Montfaucon, thousands of Americans lost their lives while the Germans defended their position without mercy.

Little Darlings by Melanie Golding. Mother knows best takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Grimms’ Fairy Tales

Little Darlings by Melanie Golding. Mother knows best takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Grimms’ Fairy Tales. Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she’s wrong about what she sa. he’ll be making the biggest mistake of her life. Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking―and rechecking―your own little ones.

Betrayal at Little Gibraltar tells the vivid human stories of the soldiers who fought to capture the giant fortress and push the American advance.

Written by William Walker, Audiobook narrated by Robertson Dean. Betrayal at Little Gibraltar. A German Fortress, a Treacherous American General, and the Battle to End World War I. By: William Walker. Narrated by: Robertson Dean. Length: 11 hrs and 54 mins.

German engineers have fortified Montfaucon, a rocky butte in northern France, with bunkers, tunnels, trenches, and a top-secret observatory capable of directing artillery shells across the battlefield. Following a number of unsuccessful attacks, the French deem Montfaucon impregnable and dub it the Little Gibraltar of the Western Front.

ch Walker-EPUB Other. eu Betrayal at Little Gibraltar by William Walker EPUB doc. 14 hours. Like Stephen Ambrose and S. C. Gwynne, Walker writes compelling popular history. Betrayal at Little Gibraltar - Audiobook. Digital Audio Formats.

xx
Betrayal at Little Gibraltar by William Walker EPUB
A vivid, thrilling, and impeccably researched account of America's bloodiest battle ever - World War I's Meuse-Argonne Offensive - and the 100-year-old cover-up at its heart.
The year is 1918. German engineers have fortified Montfaucon, a rocky butte in Northern France, with bunkers, tunnels, trenches, and a top-secret observatory capable of directing artillery shells across the battlefield. Following a number of unsuccessful attacks, the French deem Montfaucon impregnable and dub it the Little Gibraltar of the Western Front. Capturing it is a key to success for AEF commander in chief John J. Pershing's 1.2 million troops. But a betrayal of Americans by Americans results in a bloody debacle. Now William T. Walker tells the full story in his masterful Betrayal at Little Gibraltar.
In the assault on Montfaucon, American forces become bogged down, a delay that cost untold lives as the Germans defended their lofty positions without mercy. Years of archival research demonstrate that the actual cause of the delay was the disobedience of a senior American officer, Major General Robert E. Lee Bullard, who subverted orders to assist the US 79th Division. The result was the unnecessary slaughter of American doughboys and preclusion of plans to end the war early. Although several officers learned of the circumstances, Pershing protected Bullard - an old friend and fellow West Point graduate - by covering up the story. The true account of the battle that cost 122,000 American casualties was almost lost to time.
Betrayal at Little Gibraltar tells the vivid human stories of the soldiers who fought to capture the giant fortress and push the American advance. Using unpublished first-person accounts, Walker describes the horrors of World War I combat, the sacrifices of the doughboys, and the determined efforts of two participants to pierce the cover-up and solve the mystery of Montfaucon. Like Stephen Ambrose and S. C. Gwynne, Walker writes compelling popular history.
xx

Betrayal at Little Gibraltar by William Walker EPUB